1434381072-picsay

This afternoon the ravens have invaded the world
They are everywhere and they know more than I do
They know when the jaguar watches
And, when the hawk begins to hunt
They know when owl’s eyes open
When coyote’s on the prowl
They know where the treasures are buried
They know when the clouds will arrive
They know how soon the wandering moon
Will rise into the skies

The ravens even know how to sing
But, you will not understand their songs
Besides, today, they are too busy
With battle plans and strategies
Painting their faces blue
And, poking about
In the ashes of the fire pit
Seeking the burned bodies of beetles
To add to potions
And, sticks
As straight as bones
To use as wands in future ceremonies

They are hoping we don’t know what they are up to
They are hoping we will think they are just a parade of clowns
Foolishly dancing, prancing, up and down
Calling to clouds, too far away to understand
Cawing to rainbows, on the other side of the world
Clawing at the wind, demanding their will be done

But, I know their feathers are iridescent
Because they are filled
With powers darker than occult mysteries
I know they are naguals
Sizing up which side I am on
They are shaman warriors
Every one
Dedicated to the snake, the smoke, the sun
Worshipers of pyramids
Trees and roads and rainbows
Maybe even stars
They are magicians
Romping, stomping, in disguise
Bewitching through steel flashes in their eyes

******

What are their ways?
What is their why?
Watching the sky
They turn and fly
I know they go from here to there
I know that they are everywhere
I know not what
They’re committed to
And, they know more than I do

******

The clouds are settling in the twilight’s glow
My sharpened knife sits by the open window

I am carefully watching the seeds the ravens planted
To see the direction in which they will grow

Valeria Castellanos – June 2015

